Dear Me by Gloria Ibanez

Dear Me,

There are some days when I wake up and wonder how I got here. Wondering which decisions I made that got me here. I am here, specifically in Florence, Italy. I’m sitting at a desk working on this blog. It is supposed to be a letter from present me to past me. Honestly, you would think it would be easy to write a letter to myself. There’s so much that I want to tell you, but at the same time so much that cannot be said.

You’re in for a crazy year. I’m not talking high school crazy, I’m talking real world crazy. It’s overwhelming moving in to your apartment. There are silly little things that you’ll find you need. Like salt, olive oil, and pepper. Seriously, those are the things you need to get first. You will probably spend at least ten minutes on what laundry detergent to buy, and what milk you’ll want to drink. It takes you a couple of weeks to really be able to differentiate between what you need and what you want. It gets easier, believe me.

The first few days of classes were rough. You aren’t really sure how to get to them, and you find out that you have to buy a ton of books, and there are fees for classes. It’s scary because you weren’t expecting to have to pay this much and it’s early in the year and you don’t want to run out of money.

Every thing is going to be okay. Pay your fees and enjoy your classes.

Your routine starts to set in. In my opinion it was a good routine. Go to classes, go to work, and in the evenings eat dinner with my roommates. After dinner I would go down to a friend’s apartment. This became my favorite part of the day. You hang out with your two best friends and laugh so hard your stomach starts to hurt. With everyone being new it seems silly to not completely bare your soul to your friends. So soon, you know everything about them and they know everything about you.

Toward the end of first semester a lot of things change. Some happy, some heart wrenchingly sad. It seems like a lot to handle, but you manage and you come out the other side feeling accomplished, because you made it through a really tough time.

Okay I hope this wasn’t too cheesy, but you love every aspect of your life in Florence, both the good and bad.

Have a great semester,

Love Me

Leave a Reply

