An Unlimited Supply of Adventure

bby: Leslie Diaz, Marist Italy FFE 2013-14

There are two types of people in life who truly inspire me: couples who met while studying abroad and backpackers.

The former because I’m a sucker for a good love story.

And the latter because those who choose to live such a nomadic lifestyle are to be admired. There’s a certain type of personality that can handle traveling without any plans, without any set destination. And those who possess those characteristics are genuinely a rare form.

On my recent excursion to Marrakech, Morocco, I met a handful of backpackers that told stories that left me in awe. How they chose where to go and what to do was not a complicated decision; for some, it was as simple as flipping a coin. Although these backpackers varied from occupation to age to country of origin, their carpe diem attitude did not.

aHaving been newly diagnosed with the travel bug, my wanderlust is at an all-time high, and my thirst for adventure skyrocketed after talking to these backpackers.

This trip to Marrakech helped me further discover who I am and what I want in life. The sights I saw and the people I met gave me amazing insight. The water-colored sunset over the Atlas Mountains helped me again appreciate the beauty of the world, while having tea with a nomadic Berber family allowed to understand generations and generations of hard work. The advice and life experiences shared by the wiser people I met provided eye-opening knowledge.

Some genius once said, “Wandering re-establishes the original harmony which once existed between man and the universe.” The world offers an unlimited supply of adventure, and there is nothing that can stop anyone from taking his or her share of that gift.

Leave a Reply

